Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Monday, July 20, 2009

Five ex-Huskies in All-Star game

With Asjha Jones of the Connecticut Sun being named as an Eastern Conference reserve and Charde Houston (Minnesota) and Diana Taurasi (Phoenix) selected as reserves for the Western Conference, there will be five former UConn players in Saturday's WNBA All-Star Game at Mohegan Sun Arena.

Seattle Storm teammates Sue Bird and Swin Cash, members of UConn's 2000 and 2002 national championship teams, were voted as Western Conference starters.

Here's the list of players selected to play in the 3:30 p.m. game

F Tamika Catchings (Indiana) F Swin Cash (Seattle)
F Candice Dupree (Chicago) F Lauren Jackson (Seattle)
C Sylvia Fowles (Chicago) C Lisa Leslie (Los Angeles)
G Katie Douglas (Indiana) G Sue Bird (Seattle)
G Alana Beard (Washington) G Becky Hammon (San Antonio)
F/G Shameka Christon (New York) F/C Nicky Anosike (Minnesota)
F/C Erika de Souza (Atlanta) F Charde Houston (Minnesota)
F Asjha Jones (Connecticut) G Cappie Pondexter (Phoenix)
F Sancho Lyttle (Atlanta) G/F Diana Taurasi (Phoenix)
G Jia Perkins (Chicago) F Tina Thompson (Los Angeles)
G/F Katie Smith (Detroit) F Sophia Young (San Antonio)

Bear in mind, Leslie and Jackson are dealing with injuries so it's likely two players will be added to the Western Conference squad to replace them. Douglas and de Souza are former members of the Connecticut Sun so there will be no lack of Connecticut connections even if the Sun, currently in second place in the Eastern Conference with an 8-6 record, have just one representative.

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home