Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, September 01, 2011

Maya Moore finalist for Sportswoman of the Year

Former UConn star Maya Moore, who graduated as the Huskies' all-time leading scorer is one of 10 finalists for the Women’s Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year Award in the team member category. The top three finalists in each of the categories will be notified by September 16 and invited to attend the annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards Gala on October 19 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City, where the winners will accept their awards.

Other finalists in the award Maya is in contention for are Argentina field hockey star Luciana Aymar, Stanford water polo star Annika Dries, Team USA and University of Wisconsin hockey player Meghan Duggan, Brazilian beach volleyball players Juliana Felisberta and Larissa Franca, German bobsledder Sandra Kiriasis, Sweden's two-time gold-medal winning curler Anette Norberg, Northwestern University and U.S. lacrosse standout Shannon Smith, three-time U.S. Olympic volleyball player Stacy Sykora and U.S. World Cup soccer veteran Abby Wambach.

You can read more about the finalists via this link

Each year, the Women’s Sports Foundation recognizes an individual sport athlete and team sport athlete whose performances over a 12-month time span has been exceptional. Past winners include Venus and Serena Williams, Nastia Liukin, Jessica Mendoza and Jackie Joyner-Kersee.

Fans can follow the link above to vote until midnight on September 5 through facebook by visiting

The winners will be determined by a combination of a public vote (50%) and the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Awards Committee’s vote (50%). The winners will be the two athletes – one individual finalist and one team finalist – who receive the highest combined share of a public vote and the Awards Committee vote.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home