Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

UConn will be represented in WNBA championship series

With Minnesota beating San Antonio to reach the Western Conference finals, there will be a UConn alum playing in the WNBA finals for the ninth straight year.

Had San Antonio beaten Minnesota, there would have had a chance of no former Huskies playing for the WNBA title for the first time since Los Angeles beat New York in the 2002 championship series. But with UConn products Diana Taurasi and Ketia Swanier on the Phoenix Mercury while Maya Moore and Charde Houston play for Minnesota, the winner out West will have a definite UConn flavor to it. However, since there are no former Huskies on either the Atlanta Dream or Indiana Fever, if the Eastern Conference champion wins the title then it will be mark the first time the WNBA champ won't have a former UConn player on the team since the Sacramento Monarchs won the title in 2005.

The WNBA's Final Four begins on Thursday when Indiana hosts Atlanta at 7 p.m. followed by Phoenix playing at Minnesota at 9 p.m. Game two is Sunday at Atlanta and Phoenix with Indiana and Minnesota hosting a winner take all game three on Tuesday if the teams split the first two games.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home