Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Monday, October 29, 2012

HoopHall Classic schedule announced

The schedule for the HoopHall Classic was announced today.

Although there won't be a game involving a future UConn women's player, top prospect Mercedes Russell (who is expected to announce tomorrow whether she is committing to Louisville or Tennessee) will lead her Springfield (Oregon) High squad against Braintree (Mass.) on at 6 p.m. on Jan. 18.

The boys' basketball field is incredible as usual and is highlighted by Jabari Parker and Chicago powerhouse Simeon as well as appearances by several other well-known  high school powerhouse programs.

Here is the official release

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the high school teams today for the 2013 Spalding Hoophall Classic. Springfield College will host the games at Blake Arena from January 17-21 during Martin Luther King, Jr. weekend. The nation’s premier event will once again showcase the top high school basketball teams from across the country. This year’s elite matchups including Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, VA) vs. Simeon High School (Chicago, IL), Prestonwood Christian Academy (Plano, TX) vs. Archbishop Mitty High School (San Jose, CA), New Hampton School (New Hampton, NH) vs. Huntington Prep (Huntington, WV) and Montverde Academy (Montverde, FL) vs. Findlay College Prep (Henderson, NV).

Other legendary programs scheduled to participate include St. Benedict’s Prep (Newark, NJ), Montrose Christian (Rockville, MD), DeMatha Catholic High School (Hyattsville, MD) and St. Anthony High School (Jersey City, NJ), coached by Hall of Famer Bob Hurley, Sr.
The 2013 Spalding Hoophall Classic continues its tradition of talented players by featuring several ESPNU’s Top 100 in the class of 2013, including top 10 stars Andrew Wiggins (Huntington Prep/Huntington, WV), Jabari Parker (Simeon High School/Chicago, IL), Julius Randle (Prestonwood Christian Academy/Plano, TX), Aaron Gordon (Archbishop Mitty High School/San Jose, CA), Noah Vonleh (New Hampton School/New Hampton, NH) and Kasey Hill (Montverde Academy/Montverde, FL) as well as 2014 standouts Jahlil Okafor (Whitney Young High School/Chicago, IL) and Dakari Johnson (Montverde Academy/Montverde, FL).  The event also includes the nation’s No. 1 girl’s player, Mercedes Russell from Springfield (Oregon) High School.

“We are excited once again to be hosting the nation’s best high school basketball event, with a lineup of players and teams that will bring fans, media and basketball enthusiasts from around the country to Springfield College,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Last year’s games were highlighted by Shabazz Muhammed (UCLA), Nerlens Noel (Kentucky), Brandon Ashley (Arizona), Kyle Anderson (UCLA) and Anthony Bennett (UNLV). Spalding Hoophall Classic alumni made their mark in this year’s 2012 NBA draft including No. 1 draft pick Anthony Davis (New Orleans Hornets), Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (Charlotte Bobcats), Austin Rivers (New Orleans Hornets) and Tony Wroten Jr. (Memphis Grizzlies).

“Spalding is proud to partner with the Basketball Hall of Fame to support the Hoophall Classic, both of which epitomize the elite level of basketball that our brand strives for, “ said Gary Barfield, EVP of Russell Brands, LLC.

In addition to the game, Spalding also sponsors the Spalding Skills Challenge which features three events including the Spalding Half-Court Hustle, Spalding 3-Point Shootout and the Spalding Slam Dunk Contest at Blake Arena on Sunday, January 20th.  An associated youth tournament, the Junior Hoophall Classic, will return this year with details located at

Tickets will be on sale starting November 1st. For more information, please visit the official web site,  

The radio color commentator for UConn women's games should be announced in the next day or two.

Kara Wolters held that position in recent years but she left to become a studio announcer for SNY during UConn women's games.


Blogger James Kerwin said...

Who is Jim betting will be the TIC Color Comm?? Kara Wolters working with Bob Joyce were incredible--Bob is probably the best Women's game announcer in the game. Kara gave him humor and insight into the UConn program. Marce Czel, Maria Conlon (my choice), or Svet Abrosomosa from Russia (calling the games by Satellite.

9:56 PM 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

A more basic question is who is streaming the radio broadcast?

6:51 AM 
Blogger Jim Fuller said...

I do not have any inside knowledge who will be getting the gig but as I mentioned, we should know soon.

IMG will provide a streaming option. I would go to for info on that.

10:09 AM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home