Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Eight former of current UConn players slated to take part in U.S. training camp

USA Basketball just released the list of names of players who have accepted invitations to take part in next week's national team training camp in Las Vegas and it is safe to say that UConn will be well represented.

Olympic gold medalists Sue Bird, Tina Charles, Maya Moore and Diana Taurasi and current UConn stars Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley, Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Breanna Stewart will also be out there for the first training camp since UConn's Geno Auriemma was named the head coach of the 2016 Olympic team. The camp will be held from Oct. 4-6.

Obviously either Moore or Taurasi will have to miss the training camp since their teams are squaring off in the WNBA's Western Conference final and one of them is guaranteed to be playing in the WNBA championship series.

Seven current college players have accepted invitations as Baylor's Odyssey Sims, Kayla McBride of Notre Dame and Maryland's Alyssa Thomas will join the four UConn players. I don't have the complete list of players who were invited and declined but Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike has a scheduling conflict so she is not going to be there.

Here are the players invited to the camp with players with possible WNBA scheduling conflicts in bold.

Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury);  Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky), Candace Parker (Los Angeles Sparks); Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx); Cappie Pondexter (New York Liberty); Jayne Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars); Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury),  DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix Mercury), Elena Delle Donne (Chicago Sky), Skylar Diggins (Tulsa Shock), Stefanie Dolson (University of Connecticut), Brittney Griner (Phoenix Mercury), Lindsey Harding (Los Angeles Sparks), Bria Hartley (University of Connecticut), Briann January (Indiana Fever), Glory Johnson (Tulsa Shock), Jantel Lavender (Los Angeles Sparks), Kayla McBride (University of Notre Dame), Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (University of Connecticut), Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Los Angeles Sparks), Danielle Robinson (San Antonio Silver Stars), Odyssey Sims (Baylor University), Breanna Stewart (University of Connecticut), Alyssa Thomas (University of Maryland), Courtney Vandersloot (Chicago Sky), Monica Wright (Minnesota Lynx) and Sophia Young (San Antonio Silver Stars


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home