Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Tuesday, October 08, 2013

4 UConn players on Wade Award watch list

UConn's Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley, Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Breanna Stewart were named to the preseason Wade Trophy watch list.

Mosqueda-Lewis led the defending national champions in scoring during the 2012-13 season, averaging 17.6 points per game. Stewart, the Most Outstanding Player in the Final Four, averaged 13.8 points and had a team-high 74 blocks shots, Dolson averaged 13.6 points and 7.1 rebounds while Hartley contributed 9.2 points per game.

UConn is the only team for four players and the only other player from the American Athletic Conference named to the list was Louisvile's Shoni Schimmel.

The Huskies kick off the 2013-14 season on Nov. 9 when they host Hartford at 4 p.m. at the XL Center.

2013-14 Preseason CandidatesPlayer Institution Position Year 
Natalie Achonwa Notre Dame Forward Senior
Rachel Banham Minnesota Guard Junior
Brittany Boyd California Guard Junior
Gennifer Brandon California Forward Senior
Jerica Coley FIU Guard Senior
Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Senior 
Aaryn Ellenberg Oklahoma Guard Senior
Bashaara Graves Tennessee Forward Sophomore
Chelsea Gray Duke Guard Senior
Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Senior 
Jordan Hooper Nebraska Forward Senior
Maggie Lucas Penn State Guard Senior
Tyaunna Marshall Georgia Tech Guard Senior
Kayla McBride Notre Dame Guard Senior
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis Connecticut Forward Junior 
Chiney Ogwumike Stanford Forward Senior
Theresa Plaisance LSU Forward Senior
Ebony Rowe Middle Tennessee Forward Senior
Shoni Schimmel Louisville Guard Senior
Meighan Simmons Tennessee Guard Senior
Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Senior
DeNesha Stallworth Kentucky Forward Senior
Breanna Stewart Connecticut Forward Sophomore 
Alyssa Thomas Maryland Forward Senior
Elizabeth Williams Duke Center/Forward Junior


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home