Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

UConn's Stewart, Tuck up for NCAA Woman of Year award

It seems to be the day for former UConn stars to receive prestigious honors.

First, it was Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Maya Moore and Diana Taurasi named to the WNBA 20@20 as the 20 best players in the 20 WNBA seasons. Now it is Breanna Stewart and Morgan Tuck being nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year.

They are now in contention to join 1995 honoree Rebecca Lobo as the only winners of the award from UConn.

Rachel Banham, Tuck's fellow rookie with the Connecticut Sun, is also a candidate. Other nominees from Connecticut colleges or universities include Southern Connecticut State's Lauren Anderson (field hockey, lacrosse), Fairfield's Olivia Brooks (golf), University of New Haven's Ashley Dawson, Hartford's Emma Donnelly (soccer) and Trinity's Martha Griffin (lacrosse).

The NCAA will announce the top 30 candidates (10 each in Division I, Division II and Division III) in early September. Nine finalists (three from each division) will be announced in late September with the winner being announced on Oct. 16.

Candidates are chosen based on their academic achievement, athletic excellence, service and leadership.

Stewart is also one of the finalists for the Honda Cup which will be announced on Monday.

Stewart won the Honda Sport Award for basketball making her a finalist for the award along with the other 11 individual sport winners. The winner will be announced live on the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards Show which begins at 9 p.m. and will air live on CBS Sports Network.

Stewart has finished in the top three in 2014 and 2015 in her attempt to join Lobo, Jen Rizzotti and two-time winner Moore as UConn players to be named the nation's top collegiate female athlete. Gymnast Kim Jacob was the winner in 2014 and swimmer Missy Franklin was last year's honoree.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home