Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

UConn legend Maya Moore up for WSF SportsWoman of Year award

Former UConn star Maya Moore is a finalist in the team sport athlete category for the Women's Sports Foundation SportsWoman of the Year.

Moore was the second-leading scorer as well as being the team leader in assists and steals on thee gold-medal winning U.S. Olympic women's basketball team in addition to helping the Minnesota Lynx advance to the 2016 WNBA Championship Series as well as posting the best record in the WNBA this season.

Valerie Arioto (softball), Briana Decker (hockey), Heather Erickson (sitting volleyball), Rachel Homan (curling), Talita DaRocha Antunes/Larissa Franca Maestrini (beach volleyball), Lucie Safarova/Bethanie Mattek-Sands (tennis), Marie McCool (lacrosse), Maggie Steffens (water polo) an Elana Meyers Taylor (bobsleigh) are the other athletes who are finalists in the team sport category.
The winners will be determined by online voting with ballots being open until Aug. 27. The winner will be honored at the 38th Annual Salute to Women in Sports on Oct. 18 in New York.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home