Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Lobo headed to Hall

Former UConn star Rebecca Lobo is among the six-player class which will be inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame class. The induction is set for June 12, 2010 in Knoxville, Tennessee. She will become the first former UConn player to be inducted.

Here is the release from the Hall of Fame.

July 25, 2009 – The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 12th group of inductees, the Class of 2010, on ABC during the WNBA All-Star game at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. today.

The six members of the Class of 2010 are:

Andrews is the winningest high school girls’ basketball coach in the country with a 1,312-282 career record. In her 47 seasons at Granbury High School, she has taken her team to 16 State Final Four appearances, winning the state title in 1990. She is a member of the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and coached the 2004 McDonald’s All-America Game. In 1993 Andrews was named the Outstanding American Coach/Teacher of the Year by the Walt Disney Company. Will be entering her 48 th season as head coach at Granbury.

Edwards is the most decorated Olympic basketball player on the planet, men or women, owning four gold medals and one bronze medal in five Olympics. She is the youngest (1984) and the oldest (2000) U.S. Olympic basketball player to ever win a gold medal. Edwards is a member of the historic 1996 USA Olympic and 1995-96 USA Basketball Women’s National teams that compiled a combined 60-0 record. She played 4 seasons in the ABL, three of those with the Atlanta Glory. Named the USA Basketball Female Athlete of the Year a record four times.

Lobo attended the University of Connecticut and helped lead the Huskies to the program’s first National Championship with an undefeated 35-0 record in 1995. She was a two-time Kodak All-American, 1995 Wade Trophy Winner and 1995 Naismith Player of the Year. A member of the 1996 Olympic Gold Medal Team, Lobo joined the WNBA for its inaugural season and spent the first five years of her career with the New York Liberty. In 1996, Lobo and her mother wrote a book, The Home Team, which dealt with her mom’s battle with breast cancer. Lobo is currently a sideline reporter and color analyst for ESPN.

As a woman of many firsts, Ray oversaw the Lady Vols’ first national championship in 1987 as the first women’s Athletic Director at the University of Tennessee. She led the drive to plan and construct the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame, which opened in June 1999. The University of Tennessee Lady Vol Leadership Award is named in her honor and she was recognized by Business Tennessee as one of the most powerful people in Tennessee. A former teacher and coach, Ray is currently the President and CEO of the Knoxville Tourism & Sports Corporation.

One of the original players of the WNBA, Weatherspoon started 220 straight games for the New York Liberty while leading the Liberty to three WNBA Championship appearances. She was a four-time WNBA All-Star and a two-time WNBA Defensive Player of the Year. In April, Weatherspoon was named head coach at Louisiana Tech, where she was a two-time Kodak All American and led the Lady Techsters to the 1988 National Championship. She was the 1988 Wade Trophy winner and was also a member of the 1988 Olympic Gold Medal Team.

Weller is one of a few coaches, men’s of women’s, to coach 25 seasons at the same institution. She averaged nearly 20 wins per season and completed 26 seasons as head coach of her alma mater, University of Maryland. She guided Maryland to three Final Fours, eight Elite Eights, 10 Sweet Sixteen appearances and eight ACC Championships. Was named ACC Coach of the Year twice and was the 1992 Naismith Coach of the Year. Served as chair of the WBCA Legislative Committee and was a member of the USA Women’s Basketball Olympic Committee.

The WNBA All-Star Game is nearing its conclusion with all four former Huskies on the winning Western Conference team (Swin Cash, Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi and Charde Houston) in double figures in the scoring column.

Asjha Jones, the lone ex-Husky on the Eastern Conference squad, just got a nice ovation after coming out of the game for the final time.

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home