Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, September 06, 2012

U.S. Olympic team to be honored

The gold-medal winning U.S. Olympic basketball team will be among those being to receive the WNBA's Inspiration Award in a luncheon on Monday in New York.

The luncheon will serve as a tribute to the performance of the U.S. women at the recently-completed Olympics as they won 58 of the 104 gold-medals captured by the U.S. squad.

Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever will be on hand to accept the award for the U.S. women's basketball team while Betsey Armstrong (water polo), Danielle Scott-Arruda (volleyball), Kayla Harrison (judo), Taylor Ritzel (rowing) and Lauren Tamayo are also expected to be on hand at the event.

Also, basketball legend Teresa Edwards will receive the Pioneer Award at the same event.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home