Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Moore wins another WNBA title

Back in 2011 Maya Moore was still a wide-eyed rookie playing a key role on a star-studded Minnesota Lynx team en route to winning the franchise's first WNBA title.

Her role these days are anything but understated. Moore had 23 points in an 86-77 win over Atlanta as the Lynx wrapped up a second title in three years with a three-game sweep of the Dream.

Moore scored at least 20 points in five of the seven playoffs games as she joins Jen Rizzotti, Swin Cash, Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi and Kelly Schumacher as the only other UConn products to win multiple WNBA titles. Moore was named the MVP of the WNBA finals. Taurasi was the only other former Husky to earn that honor when she was named MVP back in 2009.

Moore averaged 20 points per game in the finals and 20.9 points in the playoffs.

Moore's former UConn teammate Tiffany Hayes came off the bench to lead Atlanta with 20 points.

This is the 11th time in the last 15 seasons that the WNBA champions had a former Husky on the team

Here is the breakdown
2013: Minnesota (Maya Moore) def. Atlanta (Tiffany Hayes)
2012: Indiana def. Minnesota (Maya Moore)
2011: Minnesota (Maya Moore, Charde Houston) def. Atlanta
2010: Seattle (Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Svetlana Abrosimova) def. Atlanta
2009: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Ketia Swanier) def. Indiana (Jessica Moore)
2008: Detroit (Kelly Schumacher) def. SA
2007: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Kelly Schumacher) def. Detroit (Swin Cash)
2006: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. Sacramento
2005: Sacramento def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2004: Seattle (Bird) def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2003: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. LA
2000: Houston (Jen Rizzotti) def. NY
1999: Houston (Jen Rizzotti, Kara Wolters) def. New York (Rebecca Lobo-injured and did not play)
1997: Houston def. New York (Rebecca Lobo)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home