Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, March 06, 2014

Four UConn players named first team All-AAC

UConn seniors Stefanie Dolson and Bria Hartley were
unanimous All-American Athletic Conference selections
While the American Athletic Conference is not announcing its major awards until tomorrow, it was still a blue-ribbon day for a few members of the top-ranked UConn women's basketball team.

Senior center Stefanie Dolson was named the conference’s defensive player of the year and shared the sportsmanship award with Louisville’s Tia Gibbs..Dolson also joined Breanna Stewart and Bria Hartley as unanimous All-AAC selections while Moriah Jefferson was also named to the first team. Louisville's Shoni Schimmel and Keena Mays of Southern Methodist were also unanimous All-AAC selections.

Dolson finished second in the league in rebounding, averaging 9.4 per game, and was fourth in blocked shots (2.3 per game) while leading the conference with a 78.6 free-throw percentage.

Stewart was second in the league in scoring (19.5 points per game) and finished in the top 10 in rebounds, field-goal percentage, free-throw percentage, blocked shots, 3-point percentage and 3-pointers made. Hartley’s scoring average of 16.6 points ranked fifth among AAC players while Jefferson led the conference in field-goal percentage, assists and assists/turnover ratio.

Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, who missed seven conference games due to an elbow injury and bout with mononucleosis, was named to the second team as was Kiah Stokes while Saniya Chong was selected to the all-freshman team.

The player of the year, coach of the year, freshman of year and scholar-athlete of the year are among the awards being announced at a press conference on Friday at 4 p.m. at Mohegan Sun Arena, the site of the conference tournament.

American Defensive Player of the Year
Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C

American Most Improved Player of the Year
Asia Taylor, Louisville, R-Sr., F

American Sportsmanship Award
Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C
Tia Gibbs, Louisville, R-Sr., G

 American Sixth Player of the Year
Rateska Brown, Temple, Jr., G

All-Conference First Team
 *Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C
 *Bria Hartley, UConn, Sr., G
 Moriah Jefferson, UConn, So., G
*Breanna Stewart, UConn, So., F
Sara Hammond, Louisville, Jr., F
Asia Taylor, Louisville, R-Sr., F
*Shoni Schimmel, Louisville, Sr., G
Ariel Hearn, Memphis, So., G
Kahleah Copper, Rutgers, So., G
Courtney Williams, USF, So., G
*Keena Mays, SMU, Sr., G

All-Conference Second Team 
Jeanise Randolph, Cincinnati, Sr., F
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, UConn, Jr., F
Kiah Stokes, UConn, Jr., C
Bria Smith, Louisville, Jr., G
Betnijah Laney, Rutgers, Jr., G/
Tyler Scaife, Rutgers, Fr., G
Alisia Jenkins, USF, So., F
Inga Orekhova, USF, Sr., G
Akil Simpson, SMU, Sr., F
Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple, Fr., G
Natasha Thames, Temple, R-Sr., F

All-Freshman Team
 *Zykira Lewis, UCF, Fr., G
 Bianca Quisenberry, Cincinnati, Fr., G
 Saniya Chong, UConn, Fr., G
 Emmonnie Henderson, Louisville, Fr., F
 Breigha Wilder-Cochran, Memphis, Fr., G
 Mooriah Rowser, Memphis, R-Fr., G
 *Tyler Scaife, Rutgers, Fr., G
 Ariadna Pujol, USF, Fr., G
 *Kiara Perry, SMU, Fr., G
 *Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple, Fr., G
 Taylor Robinson, Temple, Fr., C
 * denotes unanimous pick  


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home