Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Monday, March 31, 2014

UConn trio earns USBWA All-American honors

UConn's Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley and Breanna Stewart were named to the United States Basketball Writers Association All-America team.

They are now among the 10 finalists for the USBWA Player of the Year that will be announced on Sunday.

Dolson is averaging 12.4 points, 9 rebounds and 3.4 assists per game. The senior ranks 12th on UConn's all-time scoring list with 1,747 career points and became only the fifth Husky all-time, along with Tina Charles, Maya Moore, Rebecca Lobo, and Jamelle Elliott, to register at least 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds.

Hartley  ranks second on the team with16.5 points per game and now sits in ninth place in UConn scoring history with 1,942 points, including 20 points in the Huskies' second round win over Saint Joseph's on Tuesday. The guard became just the third Husky, joining Moore and Diana Taurasi, to register 1,500 points, 500 rebounds and 500 assists.

Stewart is averaging a team-high 19.7 points per game and has reached double digits in 27 straight games. Stewart was recently chosen as one of four finalists for the 2014 Naismith Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation's top collegiate basketball player.

They are joined on the team by Notre Dame's Kayla McBride and Jewell Loyd, Alyssa Thomas of Maryland, Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike, Odyssey Sims of Baylor, Penn State's Maggie Lucas and Shoni Schimmel of Louisville.

Labels: , ,


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Congrats to UConn players. Wonder how voting would have went if KML was healthy enough to play entire season?

I am in the minority on this one. But to me Schimmel is just a volume shooter who takes outrageous shots and has too much attitude for someone who has struggled against UConn. Other less popular guards have scored 20+ against UConn.

1:27 PM 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Can the errors please stop. Bria Hartley was a USBWA All American her sophomore year, this is not her first

3:05 PM 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hate to burst your attitude bubble!

2011-2012 USBWA AA Team:

Elena Delle Donne, Delaware
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame
Chelsea Gray, Duke
Brittney Griner, Baylor
Shenise Johnson, Miami
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford
Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State
Odyssey Sims, Baylor
Alyssa Thomas, Maryland

Coach of the Year
Kim Mulkey, Baylor
Freshman of the Year
Elizabeth Williams, Duke

6:38 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home