Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Monday, April 07, 2014

UConn's Stewart wins Naismith Award

UConn sophomore forward Breanna Stewart became the sixth Husky to be named the winner of the Naismith Trophy.

Here is the release
University of Connecticut sophomore Breanna Stewart not only became the sixth UConn player to win the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, but she joined some stellar company in becoming just the seventh player to win the Naismith Trophy in both high school and college. Former Huskies star Maya Moore was the last to achieve that feat – having won the Naismith Trophy twice in high school (2006, 2007) and twice in college (2009, 2011).

The Atlanta Tipoff Club made the announcement earlier tonight at the WBCA Awards Program in Stewart was announced as the award winner from among a field of finalists that included University of Notre Dame senior Kayla McBride, Stanford University senior Chiney Ogwumike and Baylor University senior Odyssey Sims. UConn has won more Women’s Naismith Trophies than any other school – now.

“Having watched Breanna win the Naismith Trophy in high school, it’s no surprise that she’s dominating at the college level,” said Eric Oberman, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “And equally as impressive is the way she’s contributing to her team’s success – which reinforces her status as the ultimate team player. We are excited to present her with another Naismith Trophy.”

“I am thrilled that Breanna has been selected as the winner of the Naismith Trophy,” said UConn coach Geno Auriemma. “She worked extremely hard in the offseason to put herself in a position to have a great year and I know being selected for this prestigious honor, among this great group of finalists, is very rewarding for her."

 Stewart has averaged 19.4 points, 8.1 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 2.8 blocks per game for the 39-0
 Was selected as the American Athletic Conference Player of the Year and was a unanimous pick to the Associated Press and USBWA All-America Teams.
 Has scored in double-figures 37 times this season and 20+ points on 20 occasions.
 Named the 2014 American Conference Tournament Most Outstanding Player and a member of the 2014 All-American Conference Tournament Team.
 Stewart and the undefeated Huskies will play for their second straight national championship on Tuesday (April 8) against Notre Dame (37-0).


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home