Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Friday, March 20, 2015

UConn's Stewart a finalist for Naismith Trophy

UConn's Breanna Stewart, the reigning Naismith Trophy winner, was one of four players named as finalists for the 2015 award.

Stewart. who would join Chamique Holdsclaw and former UConn greats Diana Taurasi and Maya Moore to win at least one Naismith girls' high school player and two Naismith Trophies.

Notre Dame's Jewell Loyd, Tiffany Mitchell of South Carolina and Minnesota's Amanda Zahui B were the other finalists.

For the 11th consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the player of their choice beginning March 23 and running through April 4 fans can cast their vote through the online and mobile optimized site The fan vote represents 25
percent of the selection process.


Anonymous Michael Keller said...

People supporting Jewell Loyd are like old-fashioned baseball fans (in the pre-sabermetric days) who couldn't see anything past homeruns and batting average. Loyd is scoring at a slightly higher rate than Stewart, but much less efficiently. In every other statistical area of the game, Stewart is vastly superior.

11:22 AM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home