Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Saturday, April 04, 2015

UConn's Breanna Stewart wins Wade Trophy; 3 Huskies on WBCAAll-American team

Breanna Stewart was the last of the three UConn players to make her way onto the Amalie Arena court to be recognized as a WBCA All-American. However, her award haul was not done earning honors.

Standing side by side with the other 10 members of the All-American team, Stewart was named the winner of the prestigious Wade Trophy as the national player of the year. A few hours later she added the Associated Press Player of Year to her growing collection.

Stewart and Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis were named WBCA All-Americans for a second time while
Moriah Jefferson is a first-time WBCA All-American meaning that she will be inducted into the
Huskies of Honor along with Stewart next season.

It is the second season in a row and fourth time overall that UConn has three players named to the 10-member team and with teams only allowed to nominate three players, that is the maximum any team can get on the team.

Stewart, a 6-foot-4 junior forward, leads the team with an average of 17.6 points per game and is also the team's top rebounder with 7.6 per game.

Mosqueda-Lewis, a 5-foot-11 senior forward, is averaging 15.2 points per game and became the NCAA's career 3-point leader earlier in the NCAA tournament.
Jefferson is averaging 12.3 points per game and leads UConn with 181 assists, 94 steals and a 50.5 3-point percentage.

This is the 10th time that multiple UConn players were named to WBCA All-Americans beginning in 1995 when Rebecca Lobo and Jen Rizzotti made the list.

The first time three UConn players were named to the team came in 2002 when Sue Bird, Swin Cash and Diana Taurasi were honored. Seven years later Tina Charles, Renee Montgomery and Maya Moore were honored  by the WBCA and last year it was the trio of Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley and Stewart making the team.

Back to the Wade Trophy, there was plenty of attention paid to the reaction of Notre Dame coach Muffet McGraw a season ago when Stewart was named the Associated Press Player of the Year over a group of players including Notre Dame's Kayla McBride. When the Wade Trophy was announced, Notre Dame's Jewell Loyd (who certainly could have been considered a top candidate for the honor) could not have displayed more grace or dignity in cheering for Stewart when she received the award.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home