Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Four UConn grads in WNBA championship series

The matchup for the WNBA championship series is now set with Indiana defeating New York 66-51 in the deciding game in the best of three game series.

If New York had won, it would have been guaranteed that the WNBA champion would have a former UConn player on the team for the 10th time in the last 11 seasons since former Huskies Tina Charles, Swin Cash and Kiah Stokes play for New York. However, there are no UConn products on the Indiana roster so there's a chance that a team with no former Huskies could win the WNBA title for the third time since 2003. Ironically, Indiana was the last team to accomplish the feat back in 2012. Before that, you would have to go back to the 2005 Sacramento Monarchs to find a UConn-less WNBA championship team.

If Minnesota wins the title, a record four former UConn players would win the title. It would be the third championship for Maya Moore and the first crown for Kalana Greene, Asjha Jones and Renee Montgomery.

This is the 13th season in a row at least one UConn player is on the roster of at least one of the teams in the WNBA championship series.

With the WNBA final now set, look for USA Basketball to announce the details and players heading to the training camp later this week. The announcement could come as soon as Wednesday.

2014: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi) def. Chicago
2013: Minnesota (Maya Moore) def, Atlanta (Tiffany Hayes)
2012: Indiana def. Minnesota (Maya Moore)
2011: Minnesota (Maya Moore, Charde Houston) def. Atlanta
2010: Seattle (Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Svetlana Abrosimova) def. Atlanta
2009: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Ketia Swanier) def. Indiana (Jessica Moore)
2008: Detroit (Kelly Schumacher) def. SA
2007: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Kelly Schumacher) def. Detroit (Swin Cash)
2006: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. Sacramento
2005: Sacramento def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2004: Seattle (Bird) def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2003: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. LA
2000: Houston (Jen Rizzotti) def. NY
1999: Houston (Jen Rizzotti, Kara Wolters) def. New York (Rebecca Lobo-injured and did not play)
1997: Houston def. New York (Rebecca Lobo)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home