Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

UConn quartet members of WNBA championship team

Maya Moore can add another WNBA title to her collection of championships and she has plenty of company from UConn country.

Renee Montgomery, Asjha Jones and Kalana Greene were also members of the Minnesota team that defeated Indiana 69-52 in the deciding game in the best of five game WNBA championship series.

This is the ninth time in the last 10 years that the WNBA champ had at least one former Husky on the roster. Ironically, Indiana was the lone exception back in 2012.

It is the first title for Jones, Montgomery and Greene bringing the total of UConn products to win a WNBA title to 13.

2015: Minnesota (Kalana Greene, Asjha Jones, Renee Montgomery, Maya Moore) def. Indiana
2014: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi) def. Chicago
2013: Minnesota (Maya Moore) def, Atlanta (Tiffany Hayes)
2012: Indiana def. Minnesota (Maya Moore)
2011: Minnesota (Maya Moore, Charde Houston) def. Atlanta
2010: Seattle (Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Svetlana Abrosimova) def. Atlanta
2009: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Ketia Swanier) def. Indiana (Jessica Moore)
2008: Detroit (Kelly Schumacher) def. SA
2007: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Kelly Schumacher) def. Detroit (Swin Cash)
2006: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. Sacramento
2005: Sacramento def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2004: Seattle (Bird) def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2003: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. LA
2000: Houston (Jen Rizzotti) def. NY
1999: Houston (Jen Rizzotti, Kara Wolters) def. New York (Rebecca Lobo-injured and did not play)
1997: Houston def. New York (Rebecca Lobo)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home