Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

UConn trio named Wade Trophy finalists

UConn's Moriah Jefferson, Breanna Stewart and Morgan Tuck were among 15 players named as finalists for the prestigious Wade Trophy.

Stewart is UConn's leading scorer (19.2 points per game) and rebounder (8.4), has a team-high 115 blocked shots and is second with 131 assists. Jefferson leads the Huskies with 179 assists and 88 steals while contributing 12.8 points per game. Tuck averages 12.8 points and 5.9 rebounds per game.

Here is the list of finalists:
Rachel Banham Minnesota Senior Guard
Alaina Coates South Carolina Junior Center
Nina Davis Baylor Junior Forward
Myisha Hines-Allen Louisville Sophomore Forward
Moriah Jefferson Connecticut Senior Guard Brittney Martin Oklahoma State Senior Guard
Kelsey Mitchell Ohio State Sophomore Guard
Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina Senior Guard
Kelsey Plum Washington Junior Guard
Breanna Stewart Connecticut Senior Forward
Morgan Tuck Connecticut Senior Forward
Brianna Turner Notre Dame Sophomore Forward
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough Maryland Junior Guard
Courtney Williams South Florida Senior Guard
A’ja Wilson South Carolina Sophomore Forward

Also, Jefferson was named a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award which is presented annually to the nation's best point guard.

Notre Dame's Lindsay Allen, Niya Johnson of Baylor, Ohio State's Kelsey Mitchell and Brene Moseley of Maryland are the other finalists. Jefferson won the award last year and has a chance to join Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi and Skylar Diggins as the only two-time winners of the award.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home