Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

UConn's Auriemma named WBCA Coach of the Year

UConn's Geno Auriemma, who stands four wins away from leading the Huskies to their sixth undefeated season and 11th national title, was named the Women's Basketball Coaches Association's National Coach of the Year.

It is the sixth time Auriemma has won the award and the first time since the 2008-09 season.

Here is the release from the WBCA

Geno Auriemma, head coach at the University of Connecticut in Storrs, Connecticut, is the recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today. This marks the 34th year since 1983 that the WBCA has presented this honor to a NCAA Division I head coach. It is Auriemma’s sixth WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year honor.
 "The WBCA is elated to name Geno as the 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Geno had a tremendous season, making an impact with his student-athletes on and off the court, as confirmation by the vote from his respective peers and is very deserving of the WBCA’s highest praise for the coaching profession."
 Auriemma, currently in his 31st season at Connecticut, has guided the top-ranked Huskies to an unblemished 34-0 record. He has guided the Huskies to their 21st 30-win season. He has led UConn to their eighth undefeated regular season and the Huskies are on a 71-game winning streak, the second longest in team and NCAA Division I women’s history. UConn went undefeated in conference play during the regular season, accomplishing the feat for the 12th time in program history. The Huskies also secured the conference tournament title for the 21st time, beating the University of South Florida 77-51.
Auriemma was selected for the third straight year as the American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year, earning his 13th overall conference Coach of the Year honor. Auriemma is also a finalist for the 2016 Naismith Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year, which he has previously won six times.
During his 31 years at the helm, Auriemma has accumulated a 951-134 record (.876), which is the best winning percentage in the history of the sport as well as accumulating 10 national championships. Auriemma also owns the record for consecutive Final Four appearances with eight.
The Huskies head to their 24th Sweet Sixteen appearance in the NCAA Division I Tournament where they will face Mississippi State on March 26.
 "The Marine Corps continues to enjoy our long and successful partnership with the WBCA.  For us, one of the major highlights of the relationship is to annually recognize the organization's outstanding coaches," said Lieutenant Colonel Brian Proctor, Assistant Chief of Staff Diversity, Marine Corps Recruiting Command.  "Each of these fine individuals, chosen by their peers to receive this well-deserved honor, exemplifies the Marine Corps leadership values of honor, courage and commitment."
The United States Marine Corps and the WBCA present the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the legendary University of Tennessee coach, to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year annually in each of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III; NAIA; junior/community college and high school).
The national coach of the year is selected from a list of finalists composed of the regional coaches of the year, who are chosen by vote of their peers in their respective WBCA membership regions, and were announced earlier this week via social media. They are:
•Region 1 – David Magarity, United States Military Academy
•Region 1 – Muffet McGraw, University of Notre Dame
•Region 2 – Amanda Butler, University of Florida
•Region 2 – Dawn Staley, University of South Carolina
•Region 3 – Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut
•Region 3 – Kim Mulkey, Baylor University
•Region 4 – Doug Bruno, DePaul University
•Region 4 – Brenda Frese, University of Maryland
•Region 5 – Cori Close, UCLA
•Region 5 – Charli Turner Thorne, Arizona State University


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Auriemma is a great coach. But he has also conceded the obvious. Great players are required for national championships. And he has stated that UConn recruits players to win national championships.

Breanna Stewart is obviously 1 of the 10 greatest WCBB players of All Time. Also in that Top 10 list are Cheryl Miller, Chamique Holdsclaw, Diana Taurasi, Maya Moore, Brittney Griner.

Moriah Jefferson won the top PG award last season. And will most likely win the top PG award this season. Many WCBB experts consider Jefferson to be the 2nd best player in WCBB, behind soon to be consensus NPOY Stewart.

Considering that Stewart and Jefferson play for UConn, and do not play for any other team, I do not understand how Auriemma could be named NCOY. He is at a clear advantage with that talent level, especially in the AAC and in the first two rounds of March Madness.

UConn has several bench players who barely improved during the course of the season, under the watchful eye of Auriemma. Like in past seasons, Auriemma gets the most talented players to play as a team. But it is puzzling how so many bench players over the seasons have barely improved with Auriemma as head coach.

Stewart was destined for greatness, no matter which WCBB team she played 4 years at. Elena Delle Donne proved to be 1 of top WCBB players during this era, without any of the best coaches in WCBB. Players like Stewart, EDD, Maya, Parker, Taurasi, etc, are transcedent.

There will be a lot of explaining to do (or excuses), if UConn fails to win the National Championship with the NCOY, NPOY, and #2 player.

1:54 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home