Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Friday, March 03, 2017

UConn's Auriemma a semifinalist for Naismith Coach of Year honor

UConn's Geno Auriemma, who has guided the Huskies to their ninth undefeated regular season, is one of 10 finalists for the Naismith Coach of the Year award.

Auriemma has won the award seven times including last year.

The other finalists of Karen Aston of Texas, Brenda Frese of Maryland, Wes Moore of North Carolina State, Mike Neighbors of Washington, Robin Pingeton of Missouri, Scott Rueck of Oregon State, Vic Schaefer of Mississippi State, Sue Semrau of Florida State and Tara VanDerveer of Stanford.

Four finalists will be announced on March 15

UConn incoming freshman Megan Walker scored the 2,000th point of her career in leading Monacan High School.

Walker had 18 points, five rebounds, two assists, two steals and a blocked shot (the 100th of her career) in the 71-32 win over Charlottesville in the quarterfinals of the Virginia 4A tournament. Monacan faces Lake Taylor on Saturday in the semifinals with the title game set for Mar. 10.

Andra Espinoza-Hunter had 36 points, eight rebounds and five assists to lead Ossining to a 79-66 win over Our Lady of Lourdes in the New York Section I Class AA semifinals. The championship game is Sunday at 2 p.m. against Albertus Magnus.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home