Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, July 30, 2009

UConn trio on "Wade" list

Maya Moore, Tina Charles and Tiffany Hayes were among the 25 players named to the preseason "Wade Watch" list, which was released on Thursday.

Moore, who won the Wade Trophy (which is annually given to the best women's basketball player in the country) last season was thrilled to be joined by two of her UConn teammates.

"It makes me proud to see my other teammates on here as well," Moore said. "I probably get more excited about that."

Stanford, which will play at UConn on Dec. 23, is the only other team with three candidates (Jayne Appel, Kayla Pedersen and Jeanette Pohlen).

The other candidates are North Carolina's Jessica Breland, Middle Tennessee's Alysha Clark, Allyssa DeHaan of Michigan State, California's Alexis Gray-Lawson, Allison Hightower of LSU, Georgia's Ashley Houts, Ohio State's Jantel Lavender, Kansas' Danielle McCray, Jacinta Monroe of Florida State, San Diego State's Jene Morris, Deirdre Naughton of DePaul, Ta'Shia Phillips of Xavier, Ohio State's Samantha Prahalis, Andrea Riley of Oklahoma State, Oklahoma's Danielle Robinson, Illinois' Jenna Smith, Carolyn Swords of Boston College, Courtney Vandersloot of Gonzaga and Virginia's Monica Wright. All 12 members of the United States team which won the gold medal at the World University Games (Charles, Gray-Lawson, Hayes, Houts, Lavender, McCray, Monroe, Moore, Pedersen, Phillips, Pohlen and Robinson) are among the 25 candidates.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home