Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Sunday, October 07, 2012

Maya Moore leads Minnesota back into WNBA finals

Former UConn star Maya Moore had eight of her 20 points in the fourth quarter as the defending champion Minnesota Lynx rallied to beat the Los Angeles Sparks to an 80-79 win and a sweep of the Western Conference final.

Moore, who will be playing in the WNBA championship series for the second time in as many pro seasons, helps extend the run of having at least one former UConn star in the WNBA finals to 10 straight seasons.

If the Connecticut Sun beats Indiana either tomorrow or Thursday, there will be six former Huskies on rosters in the championship series and there would be a guarantee that the championship team will have a Connecticut grad for the seventh straight season.

The last time UConn wasn't represented in the WNBA championship series came in 2002 when Los Angeles beat New York for the title. The only other times it did not happen came in 1998 and 2001.

Here's the breakdown of former UConn players in the WNBA finals

2011: Minnesota (Maya Moore, Charde Houston) def. Atlanta
2010: Seattle (Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Svetlana Abrosimova) def. Atlanta
2009: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Ketia Swanier) def. Indiana (Jessica Moore)
2008: Detroit (Kelly Schumacher) def. SA
2007: Phoenix (Diana Taurasi, Kelly Schumacher) def. Detroit (Swin Cash)
2006: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. Sacramento
2005: Sacramento def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2004: Seattle (Bird) def. Connecticut (Nykesha Sales, Asjha Jones)
2003: Detroit (Swin Cash) def. LA
2000: Houston (Jen Rizzotti) def. NY
1999: Houston (Jen Rizzotti, Kara Wolters) def. New York (Rebecca Lobo-injured and did not play)
1997: Houston def. New York (Rebecca Lobo)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home