Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

3 UConn players are Wade Trophy finalists

The WBCA announced the 12 finalists for the prestigious Wade Trophy and a trio of UConn players were on the list as Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley and Breanna Stewart are in the running for the national player of the year award.

Notre Dame is the only other school with more than one candidate as Jewell Loyd and Kayla McBride join Nebraska's Jordan Hooper, Florida State's Natasha Howard, Penn State's Maggie Lucas, South Carolina's Tiffany Mitchell, Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike, Odyssey Sims of Baylor and Maryland's Alyssa Thomas as finalists.

Dolson is averaging 12.4 points, 9.0 rebounds and 3.4 assists per game and she is 12th on UConn’s all-time scoring list with 1,747 career points and is fourth on the career rebounding list.

Hartley is UConn's second-leading scorer with an average of 16.5 points while Stewart is averaging a team-high 19.7 points per game and has reached double digits in 27 straight games. She joined Rebecca Lobo as the only UConn players with 100 assists and 100 blocked shots in the same season.

The winner will be announced during the Final Four.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home