Blogs > Elm City to Eagleville

A blog on UConn women's basketball.

Tuesday, April 07, 2015

UConn's Stewart named winner of Naismith Trophy

UConn's Breanna Stewart was named the winner of the Naismith Trophy for the second consecutive season.

Stewart, who is averaging team-best totals of 17.8 points and 7.6 rebounds, joined former UConn stars Diana Taurasi and Maya Moore and Tennessee legend Chamique Holdsclaw as the only women's players to earn at least one Naismith Girls' High School Player and two Women's College Player of the Year Awards. She has a chance to join former Southern California star Cheryl Miller to win three Naismith Trophies.

“Being selected as the winner of the Naismith Trophy is a tremendous honor and I am very
happy for Stewie,” said UConn head coach Geno Auriemma in a statement.  “To be able to repeat as the winner while playing at such a high level is not easy to do.  The bigger the stage, the bigger
Stewie performs and I think that's an indication of greatness. I'm happy for her and our team,
and I think she deserves it."


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home